Tags

, ,

“I wait for the Lord, my whole being waits, and in his word I put my hope.”

Psalm 130:5

I think we humans have a very hard time waiting.  We have our own plan and idea for when things should happen…of course I am usually way off of God’s timeline, but sometimes we have the wisdom to use the period of ‘waiting’ to continue God’s work.  In fact, I find that usually the ‘waiting’ period is not intended to be a ‘waiting’ period, it is a ‘living’ ‘loving’ ‘learning’ ‘leading’ period.  In my experience, it’s a LOT of learning, and quite a bit of living can blossom during these periods.

Unfortunately, we mere mortals can take this time that is filled with purpose and turn it into a wasted time, and a godless time.  The first thing that came up as I was studying this topic was when Moses went up on the mountain to receive the Ten Commandments.  Before he went up, this is what he said to the elders:

Wait here for us until we come back to you. Aaron and Hur are with you, and anyone involved in a dispute can go to them.” Genesis 24:14

God was doing something great up there with Moses, giving him the commandments that are essential for us to live a life pleasing to God.  But the Israelites got bored of waiting and decided that this must not have been the god that was powerful enough to perform the plagues and separate the Red Sea and free them from slavery in Egypt.  So they made up their own gods and ‘built’ them out of their gold jewelry.  It’s kind of silly looking at it now, and I’m sure it’s a tragic comedy up in Heaven, for the Israelites to think that some god they made up and built with gold was powerful enough to perform the miracles in Egypt and those performed in the lives of their forefathers that they knew all too well.

Contrast this story of godless waiting, with the multiple exhortations by David in Psalm to wait on the Lord, here are just a few examples:

“Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord.” Psalm 27:14

“In the morning, Lord, you hear my voice; in the morning I lay my requests before you and wait expectantly.” Psalm 5:3

“Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him; do not fret when people succeed in their ways, when they carry out their wicked schemes.” Psalm 37:7

“Lord, I wait for you; you will answer, Lord my God.” Psalm 38:15

Oh to have such faith, hope, and courage to wait for the Lord and not turn to my own resources and capabilities.

How are you spending your time as you ‘wait’ on the Lord?

